First impressions…

Hey folks, this is on something that I’ve been thinking about for a while and like most things- my thinking around this matter is constantly changing.

First impressions, huh? People tell us that they matter because they last. But it’s interesting because sometimes in our longest-lasting relationships, we find that them, our primary impressions drifting into the background of our memories. Though maybe they’re important like the 10% weighting of our first year exams which we have to pass to make it to the next year at uni- what I mean is looking back at them, it seems like they didn’t account for much but if we didn’t do well, we may not have progressed to the next level e.g. become someone’s friend.

I guess I’ve been thinking about first impressions a lot because I’ve realised that with many people I meet, the first impression is often at a standard which neither of us then reach, no longer able to match the standard of conversation perhaps because there was some sort of novelty to the initial interaction. Of course, the best relationships are those in which, the standards from the first moment are not only met but shattered and exceeded by immeasaurable bounds over time.

At the same time, don’t despair when you experience the former- where expectations have been set too high and others don’t meet them. Some interactions are not to be repeated with the same people- you can’t be on the same level with everyone and that may just be the topic of one of my upcoming posts. For now, I will leave you with this brief insight into what I think of first impressions! I hope you are all well and taking care of yourselves and I shall speak to you soon!

PS: Do put effort into first impressions as often as you can because you never know where they may lead! 🙂

Also, I’d love to read some comments you may have on first impressions in the comments! Have you thought much about them before? Did this post provoke any thoughts on them for you? Let me know

❤ Tanz

Leave a Reply

